EDC Upgrade

57f5584a6a8860faf804008af2f66099When I decided to write a review for the Glock 26, I hesitated initially due to the overwhelming abundance of articles already available.  However, with

the recent events that occurred in Orlando, Florida, I began thinking more and more about the day and age we live in.  Fifty people were killed and another fifty injured in one of the worst shootings in our countries history.  Without venturing down the road of politics, once again a mass shooting has occurred within a “gun free zone” and rocked our country to its core.

maxresdefault (2)

Although it may have been evident to some people before, it is the responsibility of individuals to protect themselves when these incidents happen.  As the saying goes, “When seconds count, the police are minutes away.”

IMG_1271I purchased a single stack 9 mm a few years back, but I have always felt it lacked something I needed.  With only a seven round magazine available, eight with the extended magazine, the single stack required several backup magazines to reach a comfortable number of rounds.  I began looking at the Glock 26 a few weeks back and finally made the decision to try one out.  I’m a tall guy weighing in at one hundred eighty pounds, and because of this, I have a hard time concealing when I am not specifically dressing for the occasion.  The problem for me is the grip height which typically prints when I carry.  The single stack was easier to carry than my preferred regular compact, but as I mentioned before, it lacked my required round count.  The  Glock 26 actually has a shorter grip length than my single stack.  At only an eighth of an inch wider, the Glock 26 would seem to conceal just as easy, if not easier.  At least that was my theory.

So let’s revisit the Orlando, Florida shooting that just happened.  Imagine it would haveIMG_1262 been legal for you to carry into the club.  You’re not drinking because you’re the designated driver.  Chaos erupts you and several friends retreat to the bathroom and barricade the door.  At this point, you have already drawn your concealed handgun.  Would you rather have a handgun with ten rounds already in the magazine and a backup magazine with ten, fifteen or even seventeen rounds (the 26 can accept Glock 19 and 17 magazines) or a single stack with seven rounds in the magazine and an eight round backup magazine?  As I mentioned before, I jumped on the single stack 9mm bandwagon, however, I see little benefit (1/8 of an inch in width) in carrying a single stack vs the Glock 26.

IMG_1267Last week after testing functionality and several self-defense rounds though the Glock 26 which performed as any other Glock would, I drove from Albuquerque, NM to Columbus, OH.  1500 miles in two days while carrying the 26 on my hip.  While the ride was long, the 26 carried in a Raven Concealment holster was comfortable.  The 26 concealed just as well as the single stack.  For me, it’s a no-brainier, I’ll take the extra rounds and magazine compatibility everyday over the single stacks, but you’ll have to make your own decisions regarding your equipment.

Here is what Glock has to say about the 26:

The GLOCK 26 Gen4, in 9×19, introduces revolutionary design changes to the “BABY GLOCK”-the most sought-after concealed carry option since its release in 1994. The Modular Back Strap design lets you instantly customize its grip to adapt to an individual shooter’s hand size. The surface of the G26 Gen4’s frame employs the new scientifically designed, real-world-tested, Gen4 rough textured technology. Internally, the new GLOCK dual recoil spring assembly substantially increases the life of the system. A reversible enlarged magazine catch, changeable in seconds, accommodates left or right-handed operators.

 

Dimensions

LENGTH: 163 mm / 6.41 in.
WIDTH:    30.00 mm / 1.18 in.

LENGTH BETWEEN SIGHTS: 
137 mm / 5.39 in.
HEIGHT:                                                106 mm / 4.17 in.
BARREL HEIGHT:                            32 mm / 1.26 in.
BARREL LENGTH:                           87 mm / 3.42 in.

WEIGHT
        UNLOADED: 615 g / 21.71 oz.
        LOADED:         740 g / 26.12 oz.

 

MAGAZINE CAPACITY
           STANDARD:   10
            OPTIONAL:    15/17/33

So, I know you need to go pick one of these up and check it out for yourself!  One way or the other enjoy shooting and stay safe!  Until next time

Justin out!

Glock Girl

Leave a Reply

